My First Aldi Trip

Reasons to Love Aldi

  1. It’s CHEAP
  2. It isn’t full of all the crazies in town (I haven’t heard of a peopleofaldi.com, have you?)
  3. It’s small and there aren’t 800 types of mayonnaise to choose from.
  4. It makes me want to buy produce.
  5. It makes me want to cook (and now I can!)

My First Aldi Grocery List

(okay friends, I bought everything I am about to list for less than $50, I bought more than what was on the list I went in with, and I wasn’t actively trying to save myself money like I should have been)

(also keep in mind that I’m cooking for one, and the my refrigerator is really little)

  • Produce
    • Bananas
    • two Gala apples
    • a bag of spinach
    • two containers of strawberries
    • 6 kiwis
    • 4 tomatoes
    • a head of iceberg lettuce
  • Grains
    • a loaf of french bread (not a baguette, but a loaf)
    • whole wheat tortillas
  • Dairy
    • sliced provolone
    • sliced mozzarella
    • feta crumbles
    • shredded Parmesan
    • a block of creamy Havarti
    • one small container of strawberry Greek yogurt
  • Meats
    • sliced oven roasted turkey
    • 3 chicken breasts
  • Condiments (and stuff that isn’t snacks, but I don’t know what else to call it)
    • Agave
    • creamy peanut butter
    • almond butter
    • tomato soup
    • pasta rings (Spaghetti-Os)
  • Snacks
    • honey wheat pretzels
    • a hazelnut chocolate bar
    • a little baby chocolate cake (dangerous, avoid, I ate half it today)

Overall, I really enjoyed Aldi. It was almost like culture shock, and I walked past things without realizing I walked past them, but I have a feeling that once I get used to the way it’s laid out, I’ll be fine. Remember to take your own bags, and be on the lookout for boxes that are floating around the store!

Plans for my new groceries

  • Parmesan crusted chicken
  • Spinach and strawberry salad with homemade dressing
  • PB&B roll-ups
  • Turkey Tom knock-off
  • Grilled cheese with mozzarella
  • snacks at work, duh
Leave a Reply

