Inside My Erin Condren (Phase 1)

Okay, so I’ve had a few requests to go ahead and show you all the initial stages of my planning, so I’ll do that, and if you look at this post, you can see my opinions on some of the updates that Erin Condren came up with this year.

Keep in mind that payday is in the morning, and that I will finally be ordering my stickers from Faye Creates tomorrow, so a post should be coming along in the somewhat near-ish future with my fully planning layout. I also don’t have any washi in my planner yet — I’m kind of seeing if I like the Faye Creates stickers and my colorful pens by themselves before I start adding washi.

Okay, so since I’ve already discussed covers and the first few pages of the planner, we’ll jump right to the goals page, which is new to the 15-16 Life Planner.

My very blank goals page.
My very blank goals page.

I opted to leave these boxes blank for now. I think I would like to use them as monthly goals for July – June, but I haven’t quite decided yet. I just don’t think I have enough areas of my life to assign a box to each one. Who knows, maybe I’ll never use this page…

Moving right along to the montly pages.

So far, I don’t have any washi, and the only stickers I have are the birthday stickers that came tucked away in the back of the planner.

August in the 15-16 planner
August in the 15-16 planner

I have included my classes for the fall semester, because I wanted something to write down. As exams and quizzes come up as the semester advances, I will just take a sticker in the color that corresponds to the class, and place it over the line that states the class name.

Sometimes this will require writing a few of the classes over again, which is where erasable gel pens come in handy (YES, they are real thing! You can find them on Amazon here).

This is much more steamlined than when we compare it to the monthly spread from August 2014:

August in the 14-15 planner
August in the 14-15 planner

I like the washi from my planner last year, but I wanted to try something new this year.

For some further comparison, here are September from this year and last year.

September 2015
September 2015
September 2014
September 2014

As you can see, the color scheme has flipped, I will be 20 this year, I traded in washi for coloring in squares with Prismacolor colored pencils, and I spilled water all over last year’s planner.

Since July hasn’t started yet, I don’t have a super great example of what my weekly spread looks like, but I have one for the first week of class, as well as one from a week in September from last year’s planner (pardon the water stains…).

15-16 planner. I used my gel pens to write in the name, time, and location of each class I am taking. I only did this for the first week, as it will stand as a reference for the weeks to come, and the upcoming weeks will begin to be used to keep track of new homework assignments and due dates.
15-16 planner. I used my gel pens to write in the name, time, and location of each class I am taking. I only did this for the first week, as it will stand as a reference for the weeks to come, and the upcoming weeks will begin to be used to keep track of new homework assignments and due dates.
14-15 planner. I designed flyers for my Community Council, and used coil clips to include each one in my planner, which kicked me in the butt when I spilled water on it.
14-15 planner. I designed flyers for my Community Council, and used coil clips to include each one in my planner, which kicked me in the butt when I spilled water on it. As you can see, my days get more crowded as time goes on.

I try to avoid washi and a bunch of superfluous decorations on the weekly spreads. My appointments, events, and tasks make the page busy enough without treating my planner as a scrapbook (I’m also not as creative or crafty as some of the other planner addicts floating around).

Okay, so now we can take a look at what I (currently) carry around with my in my planner (this s subject to change upon the arrival of my Faye Creates stickers, which I know I will obsess over the instant they are in my hands).

Spare envelopes.
Spare envelopes. Craft paper is my favorite, because all you need is a white gel pen and a pencil to make them look bomb dot com.
Stamps (I also have a few Toy Story ones floating around somewhere).
Stamps (I also have a few Toy Story ones floating around somewhere). These are especially important when I’m travelling and decide to send post cards.
The 8 billion stickers included in my past two planner purchases.
The 8 billion stickers included in my past two planner purchases.

I also went ahead and removed all the sheets of birthday, event, and blank stickers from my old planner, trimmed off the coil edge, and stuck them in my Keep It Together pouch (after I took all these pictures of course) so that I have a wider range of colors to work with. I like it when people get to pick their favorite color for their birthday sticker, and I use a wide range of colors when coding my classes as well.

Okay, well it’s 1:00am here, and I’m tired. If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask. And be on the lookout for an update on my planner in a few weeks!!

Also, for any of you who haven’t discovered your passion for Erin Condren yet (whether you just like her Do It All Dots, you want a custom notebook, or you want to go all out and get yourself a Life Planner), click here and create yourself an account, earning a $10 off discount towards your first purchase!!

Leave a Reply

